Te Awakairangi Health Network’s Board of Trustees consists of nine members and meets regularly. From 1 January 2018 the Trustees are:
Muhammad Naseem (Joe) Asghar – Independent Chair
Originally trained as a pharmacist, Joe followed a career mainly in hospital practice gaining experience across a range of clinical disciplines. During this time he also worked in community practice. Subsequent steps saw Joe move to management positions, initially in local health services to eventually a role with the UK Department of Health. On moving to New Zealand, he initially worked in health, with a subsequent move into science and science policy. He has recently taken on a role as manager of Health Sector Services with ACC. Joe completed his undergraduate degree and Masters in Science at Strathclyde University and his MBA at Durham. He has Fellowships of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (UK), the Faculty of Public Health (UK), the New Zealand College of Pharmacists and is a Chartered member of the Institute of Directors. He currently chairs the Board of Te Awakairangi Health Trust.
Peggy Luke-Ngaheke
Peggy is a mother of three and grandmother of three beautiful Mokopuna.  She has lived in the Hutt Valley all of her life.  Peggy is very passionate about better health in the Hutt Valley for all whanau.  She trained as a Counsellor and AOD Clinician and has worked for the Hutt Valley DHB.  Peggy worked in community mental health for six years.  She is currently a Runanga Trustee for Te Atiawa and presently manages the Marae at Waiwhetu.
She also has a background of 36 years in Kohanga Reo and is very passionate about great health for all Mokopuna.
Tofa SuafoleGush
Tofa Suafole Gush serves on the Te Awakairangi Health Network Board as a Pacific representative. She is Samoan, and has had various roles in government and the private sector. Tofa has extensive public sector experience over more than 30 years in housing, health, social development and with agencies involved in addressing Pacific issues. Her current role is Director, Pacific Health for Wairarapa & Hutt Valley DHBs. Prior to joining Health, Tofa was the National Manager, Pacific Service Development for Ministry of Social Development.  Tofa holds Board memberships representing Pacific communities in various organisations.
Teresea Olsen
Teresea is Ngati Porou, a mother of six and has brought up five whangai. She has nine grandchildren, lives in Wainuiomata and works at Kokiri Marae in Seaview. Teresea set up the health and social services arm of her organisation in 1982 and supported the development of organisations like Kokiri Marae Maori women’s refuge, Whai Oranga Health Centre, Tu Kotahi Maori Asthma Trust and Naku Enei Tamariki to name a few. She is passionate about Maori health and improving the health of Maori Whanau. Her commitment and achievements were recognised by the award of a Queen’s Service Medal in 2018.
Dr Hans Snoek
Hans is a General Practitioner who has lived and worked in the Hutt Valley since 1985. He trained at Otago University, worked in Wellington, Kenepuru and Hutt Hospitals as a junior doctor and trained in Wainuiomata as a GP Registrar. The Valley is his home and he has children and grandchildren living here. In addition to full-time general practice, Hans continues to work as a Police Medical Officer, a Visiting Medical Officer to an Aged Residential Care facility, a GP teacher and a Medical Referee for Cremations. He is currently the clinical director of Te Awakairangi Health Network and serves on the Te Awakairangi Board of Trustees. He remains interested in health system improvements which would deliver better quality health care in a timely fashion to folk that have needs in an efficient manner to benefit the whole community.
Muriel Tunoho
Muriel is an active Board member of the Health Care Aotearoa Network and this keeps her in touch with HCA member providers, championing effective models of care and influencing Government policies impacting on their communities and funding viability.  Muriel is a consumer representative on the Health Quality & Safety Commission Consumer Council.  In December 2017, Muriel was appointed to the Ministerial Health Advisory Group for a two-year term.
Dr David Young
A Hutt Valley resident for 55 years, David attended Waterloo, Hutt Intermediate and Hutt Valley High Schools. He graduated from Otago Medical School in 1977 and worked as a House Officer at Wellington and Hutt Hospitals before becoming a partner at Naenae Medical Centre where he practiced for over 30 years. More recently, he has worked part-time as a GP and was recently appointed Clinical Director of Community Health Services Group at the Hutt Valley DHB.
David has held several positions on local GP organisations and been a Trustee on Hutt PHOs and Clinical Governance Committees. Currently, he is also a Director of the Hutt Valley After Hours Centre and a Trustee of Te Omanga Hospice.
Leanne Spice
Leanne is a Chartered Accountant and has lived in Wainuiomata, Maungaraki and Upper Hutt.  Leanne started her career with KPMG and since then has spent over 25 years working in the public sector.  Leanne has extensive financial management expertise at senior levels and currently provides strategic change and management consultancy services to a variety of public sector clients.  Specifically, in the health sector, Leanne has provided services to Hutt Valley, Capital & Coast and Bay of Plenty DHBs and the Ministry of Health.  Leanne is passionate about ensuring the taxpayer’s investment makes a real difference to New Zealanders.
Dr Kim Hurst

Kim is a General Practitioner who settled in the Hutt Valley in 2009. She trained in Birmingham University, UK before serving in the Royal Air Force as a Medical Officer for 9 years. She is proud to call the Valley her home and enjoys serving the community lives in. She is a full-time General Practitioner, Clinical Director, GP teacher, provides Independent Medical Assessments for Ministry of Social Development and assists Trentham Army Camp with military medical support when needed. She is a keen sportswoman and a New Zealand representative cyclist. She is passionate about advocating for improvements to the local health system to enhance the services available for our people.