In the event of a major emergency, Te Awakairangi Health Network will activate an Emergency Operation Centre (EOC) and will be the go-between for information between General Practices and the Hutt Valley District Health Board including closures, staffing levels and resources.

Emergency management planning

All General Practices in Te Awakairangi Health Network have an Emergency business continuity plan to activate in the event of a major emergency.

All practices are encouraged to have a memorandum of understanding with an alternative location if it becomes necessary to vacate their premises.

Practices are also encouraged to have sufficient resources on site to maintain operation if they are able to stay in their building.

Important items are water tanks and generators along with personal grab bags.

Local emergency groups

There are five local emergency groups (LEGs) made up of GP practices, pharmacies and other health organisations across the Hutt Valley. The purpose of these groups is to be able to support each other in the event of a major emergency. Each group has a coordinator who will be the key contact for TeAHN in an emergency situation. There is at least one radio telephone in each group.

The LEGs are located in:

  • Upper Hutt
  • Northern Lower Hutt
  • Central Lower Hutt
  • Lower Hutt South and Petone
  • Wainuiomata

More information

Ministry of Health
Emergency management, disaster planning and business continuity in primary care

Wellington Region Emergency Management Office